Australia.

8 Apr

Well it is official. I actually do miss Australia. I truly did not imagine that leaving would be so difficult. I suppose though it is a good reminder to know that I am not an emotionless robot who can pick up and leave everything without even as much as a backward glance. I’ve looked back. A lot. Sometimes when traveling there is a gnawing fear that maybe cutting ties and moving on is far too easy. I guess you can say that backpacking makes you good at it but it isn’t ever easy, just more manageable.

Leaving also has forced me to realize how much I really do love Australia. Its hard to put a finger on exactly why, but I think the whole place has a subtle undertone of positivity. The people are genuine and they don’t complain much and they are funny and blunt as hell. Everyone is comfortable being exactly themselves, whether its likeable or not. And I think that confidence has rubbed off on both Charlotte and I.

My time in Australia has been a whirlwind of taking chances, making mistakes, learning from the mistakes, making them once more, cursing, trusting people, being uncomfortable, getting comfortable, and doing it all over again.

For the last fifteen months I have not known my plans from one week to another. Most of the time I haven’t known from one day to the next where I would be or what I would be doing. It is scary and nerve-wracking to constantly be asking yourself, “what am I doing with my life?” but I think it gives you a confidence that no matter what, things will sort themselves out. Whether you are living in a McDonalds parking lot for two weeks, spending each day job hunting at the community library or knocking on the door of a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend in hopes that he will show you around his town or altering your resume by removing all education and career information in order to get a job serving beer or spending your last $100 on fixing your car.  Every decision we made in the past year has left us fingers crossed, knock-kneed and scared shitless.

But it has all worked out. And because of that, Charlotte and I have fallen in love with Australia.

Moving on though. Can’t stay stuck in the past forever. We are in Singapore and headed to Malaysia tomorrow. It hasn’t been a culture shock but it is shockingly different from Australia. Singapore has a very futuristic feel to it, I imagine that within twenty years the people will be getting around by enclosed and air-conditioned hover boards and all communication with take place though microchips in everyone’s brain.

One Response to “Australia.”

  1. Mary Jane April 13, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    love love love it1

Leave a Reply

